OC Riptide 2020 Schedule Announced

Alaska trip highlight of non-league schedule

OC Riptide 2020 Schedule Announced

During the annual California Collegiate League meeting, the OC Riptide along with other CCL teams, finalized the 2020 schedule which includes the Riptide traveling to Alaska for a six-day non-conference series.

The Riptide will call the Orange County Great Park home for the second consecutive year. The 2020 OC Riptide season opens at home on June 5, taking on the So Cal Shepherds, members of the Sunset Baseball Collegiate League. The following day, Saturday, June 6, The Riptide will pay a visit to Biola University to take on the Shepherds to round out the home-and-away series.

The Riptide will welcome in the San Diego Waves, members of the Western Baseball Association for a Sunday game on June 7th.

The longest and furthest road trip of the summer takes the Riptide all the way to Fairbanks, Alaska for a six day series with the Alaska Goldpanners. The Goldpanners are famously known for hosting the Midnight Sun Game, a game played every summer solstice at Growden Memorial Park in Fairbanks, Alaska. Because the sun is out for almost 24 hours a day, the game starts at about 10:30 at night and completes around 1:30 the next morning. Famous players who have appeared in the game include Tom Seaver, Dave Winfield, Terry Francona, Harold Reynolds, Jason Giambi, and Bill “Spaceman” Lee.

The Orange County Riptide will not play in the Midnight Sun Game because the summer solstice is June 21st. The Riptide will play six games in Fairbanks from June 9-14, 2020.

Upon returning home, the Riptide will have a few short days to rest up before opening California Collegiate League play at home vs. the Arroyo Seco Saints on June 17th. Upon starting CCL play, the Riptide will play only one more non-CCL game during the season. The remaining non-league game will see the OC Riptide travel out to Palm Springs to take on the Palm Springs Power on July 12th. this non-league game could provide a tune-up for the Riptide players selected to the CCL All-Star & Prospects Game scheduled for Wednesday, July 15th.

Since the CCL South Conference is divided into two divisions, a South Division and a Central Division, the majority of CCL games for the Riptide will include contests against South Division foes. The other CCL South Division teams include the MLB Academy Barons and the Arroyo Seco Saints. The Riptide will play the Barons and Saints nine times in 2020.

The Riptide will also face CCL Central Division opponents in 2020 with four games scheduled each with the San Luis Obisbo Blues, Conejo Oaks and the Santa Barbara Foresters.

Thursday, July 30th marks the start of the CCL Southern Conference playoffs with August 1st marking the start of the 2020 CCL State Championship.

For the full and complete 2020 OC Riptide schedule, see below.

Day Date Opponent Location
Friday June 5, 2020 So Cal Shepherds* Orange County Great Park – Irvine
Saturday June 6, 2020 So Cal Shepherds* Biola University – La Mirada
Sunday June 7, 2020 San Diego Waves* Orange County Great Park – Irvine
Tuesday June 10, 2020 Alaska Goldpanners* Growden Memorial Park – Fairbanks
Wednesday June 11, 2020 Alaska Goldpanners* Growden Memorial Park – Fairbanks
Thursday June 12, 2020 Alaska Goldpanners* Growden Memorial Park – Fairbanks
Friday June 13, 2020 Alaska Goldpanners* Growden Memorial Park – Fairbanks
Saturday June 14, 2020 Alaska Goldpanners* Growden Memorial Park – Fairbanks
Sunday June 15, 2020 Alaska Goldpanners* Growden Memorial Park – Fairbanks
Wednesday June 17, 2020 Arroyo Seco Saints Orange County Great Park – Irvine
Thursday June 18, 2020 Conejo Oaks Orange County Great Park – Irvine
Saturday June 20, 2020 Santa Barbara Foresters Pershing Park – Santa Barbara
Wednesday June 24, 2020 Santa Barbara Foresters Orange County Great Park – Irvine
Thursday June 25, 2020 Arroyo Seco Saints Orange County Great Park – Irvine
Friday June 26, 2020 Academy Barons MLB Youth Academy – Compton
Saturday June 27, 2020 Conejo Oaks Cal Luthern Univ. – Thousand Oaks
Sunday June 28, 2020 Arroyo Seco Saints Jackie Robinson Memorial Field – Pasadena
Tuesday June 30, 2020 Academy Barons Orange County Great Park – Irvine
Wednesday July 1, 2020 Academy Barons MLB Youth Academy – Compton
Thursday July 2, 2020 Arroyo Seco Saints Jackie Robinson Memorial Field – Pasadena
Friday July 2, 2020 Academy Barons MLB Youth Academy – Compton
Sunday July 5, 2020 Academy Barons MLB Youth Academy – Compton
Tuesday July 7, 2020 Santa Barbara Foresters Orange County Great Park – Irvine
Wednesday July 8, 2020 Arroyo Seco Saints Jackie Robinson Memorial Field – Pasadena
Thursday July 9, 2020 Academy Barons Orange County Great Park – Irvine
Friday July 10, 2020 Santa Barbara Foresters Pershing Park – Santa Barbara
Saturday July 11, 2020 Conejo Oaks Cal Luthern Univ. – Thousand Oaks
Sunday July 12, 2020 Palm Springs Power* Palm Springs Stadium – Palm Springs
Wednesday July 15, 2020 CCL All-Star / Prospect Game TBD
Thursday July 16, 2020 Arroyo Seco Saints Orange County Great Park – Irvine
Friday July 17, 2020 San Luis Obispo Blues Sinsheimer Park – San Luis Obispo
Saturday July 18, 2020 San Luis Obispo Blues** Sinsheimer Park – San Luis Obispo
Saturday July 18, 2020 San Luis Obispo Blues** Sinsheimer Park – San Luis Obispo
Sunday July 19, 2020 San Luis Obispo Blues Sinsheimer Park – San Luis Obispo
Tuesday July 21, 2020 Conejo Oaks Orange County Great Park – Irvine
Wednesday July 22, 2020 Academy Barons Orange County Great Park – Irvine
Thursday July 23, 2020 Arroyo Seco Saints Jackie Robinson Memorial Field – Pasadena
Friday July 24, 2020 Academy Barons Orange County Great Park – Irvine
Saturday July 25, 2020 Academy Barons MLB Youth Academy – Compton
Sunday July 26, 2020 Arroyo Seco Saints Orange County Great Park – Irvine
Wednesday July 29, 2020 Arroyo Seco Saints Orange County Great Park – Irvine
Thursday July 30, 2020 CCL Conference Playoffs TBD
Friday July 31, 2020 CCL Conference Playoffs TBD
Saturday August 1, 2020 CCL Stata Championship TBD
Sunday August 2, 2020 CCL Stata Championship TBD

(* = Non-League game)
(** = Double Header)

Leave a Reply